23.7 C
Port Louis
Monday, April 22, 2024

Download The App:

Read in French

spot_img

West African Court Rejects Niger Junta’s Plea To Remove Coup Linked Sanctions

Must Read

The junta in Niger requested that the sanctions related to the coup be lifted by its neighbours, but the top court in West Africa rejected the request on Thursday, December 7, stating that the junta is unconstitutional and therefore does not have the right to make such a request.

The West African regional bloc ECOWAS imposed sanctions after the coup in July that overthrew Niger’s president, Mohamed Bazoum. These sanctions included closing borders with Niger, halting financial transactions, and freezing Niger’s assets. Seventy percent of Niger’s electricity came from power outages caused by neighbouring Nigeria.

The ECOWAS Court of Justice in Abuja heard a challenge to the sanctions from the de facto government of Niger as well as from individuals and organisations. They claimed that by reducing food and medicine supplies, among other things, they were severely impoverishing the people of Niger.

The leaders of the coup in Niger requested that the sanctions be temporarily lifted while a decision on the matter is made.

Judge Dupe Atoki delivered the decision on Thursday, describing Niger’s junta as the outcome of “an unconstitutional change of government” and declaring that the country is not acknowledged as a constituent of the regional alliance.

Thus, the judge declared, “Therefore, to the extent that the request for provisional measures in the name of Niger has been brought by an unconstitutional and unrecognized government, it is … inadmissible.”

The decision may make it more difficult to end Niger’s political unrest and restore civilian rule in the nation. The ECOWAS has rejected the junta’s proposed three-year timeline for handing back power to civilians, even though the junta has named a prime minister.

- Advertisement -spot_img

More Articles

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest Articles

25.3 C
Port Louis
Tuesday, February 27, 2024

Download The App:

Read in English

spot_img

La Cour D’Afrique De L’ouest Rejette La Demande De La Junte Nigérienne De Lever Les Sanctions Liées Au Coup D’état

Doit Lire

La junte nigérienne a demandé à ses voisins de lever les sanctions liées au coup d’État, mais la plus haute juridiction d’Afrique de l’Ouest a rejeté cette demande le jeudi 7 décembre, déclarant que la junte était inconstitutionnelle et qu’elle n’avait donc pas le droit de faire une telle demande.

Le bloc régional d’Afrique de l’Ouest, la CEDEAO, a imposé des sanctions après le coup d’État de juillet qui a renversé le président du Niger, Mohamed Bazoum. Ces sanctions comprenaient la fermeture des frontières avec le Niger, l’arrêt des transactions financières et le gel des avoirs du Niger. Soixante-dix pour cent de l’électricité du Niger provenait de coupures de courant causées par le Nigeria voisin.

La Cour de justice de la CEDEAO à Abuja a été saisie d’une contestation des sanctions par le gouvernement de facto du Niger ainsi que par des particuliers et des organisations. Ils ont affirmé qu’en réduisant l’approvisionnement en nourriture et en médicaments, entre autres, les sanctions appauvrissaient gravement le peuple nigérien.

Les dirigeants du coup d’État au Niger ont demandé que les sanctions soient temporairement levées en attendant qu’une décision soit prise à ce sujet.

Le juge Dupe Atoki a rendu sa décision jeudi, décrivant la junte nigérienne comme le résultat d’un “changement anticonstitutionnel de gouvernement” et déclarant que le pays n’est pas reconnu comme un élément constitutif de l’alliance régionale.

Ainsi, le juge a déclaré : “Par conséquent, dans la mesure où la demande de mesures conservatoires au nom du Niger a été introduite par un gouvernement inconstitutionnel et non reconnu, elle est … irrecevable”.

Cette décision pourrait rendre plus difficile la fin des troubles politiques au Niger et le rétablissement d’un régime civil dans le pays. La CEDEAO a rejeté le calendrier de trois ans proposé par la junte pour rendre le pouvoir aux civils, même si la junte a nommé un premier ministre.

- Advertisement -spot_img

Plus D'Articles

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisement -spot_img

Dernières Nouvelles